Skip to content

a beginning of a retreat

January 1, 2010

Reflection ~ Roots ~ Restoration is an effort for me to RETREAT for a year.

I opened my eyes and...

I opened my eyes and…

a beginning...

This past summer brought a sudden realization that I really didn’t know much about

who I was,

who those around me were

and

how I did

or

           did not interact with my surroundings. 

I was lost.

                                                                                                                                                                                                   …a beginning…

5 months later, it was snowing, Christmas traveling was approaching and I just wanted to disappear. I felt like I was a burden or stressor for those closest to me.

It was December and I longed for a real retreat. I wanted an extended period of time secluded from my normal crazy schedule, providing an opportunity for me to try to figure out who I am and why I think, say, and do what I do.

Then I realized, “Wait! I love being with my family, and enjoy my schooling, and my work.” So, how can I retreat and continue to live this full life God has blessed me with?

Hmmm… a friend of mine took a picture of herself once a week and briefly reflected on what was on her mind and heart that week for the 2009 year.  As I looked through her project I saw great potential for using this kind of a project as a form of a retreat for me.

So, I am creating this blog as a space for me to reflect, rediscover my roots, and hopefully find some restoration.

I will take a picture of me or part of me once a week- representing something I’ve learned about myself (for this year only—and then next year we shall see what happens).

I will take a picture of something or someone else once a week also- anything that stands out to me and makes me think.

I plan to juxtapose these pictures with some sort of reflection each week which I hope will help in this journey of rediscovering my roots and experience some sort of restoration.

 beginning at the roots...

                                                                                                      …started at the roots.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 8:37 am

    love the last picture, great perspective : )

  2. Amber permalink
    January 16, 2010 10:15 pm

    huge volumes of love to you. rest and love.

Leave a Reply

