Skip to content

remembering promises in the woods

February 12, 2010

A snowy woods is where I promised to walk beside a man for the rest of my life…little did I know on that day how restorative that memory and many others created in snowy woods would be for me. However, the woods have always been a special place of reflection and restoration for me…perhaps because I can see and hear God there.

These last few weeks have not been easy for me.

BUT I’ve found my vision. And I plan to keep going and am thankful for the man who walks beside me through these woods.

I heard a recording of Robert Frost  reading this poem of his and found it to be quite encouraging to keep walking this walk:

Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening -Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know. His house is in the village, though; He will not see me stopping here To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer To stop without a farmhouse near Between the woods and frozen lake The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake To ask if there is some mistake. The only other sound’s the sweep Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark, and deep, But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

