Skip to content

roots of a wife

April 30, 2010

I have shared with you the many different parts of who I am (reflecting on happiness…roots restoration entry). I have reflected on some of the parts of who I am as God’s daughter and a disciple of Christ. AND as a Christian I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, professor, student, and gardener…                                         ~ all have roots and are roots.

I view my role as a wife to be THE most important role God has blessed me with in my entire life. As a wife I strive to love him and simply walk beside him every day. Within this role I hope to empower him to do what it is that he loves, to do what it is that brings God glory.

I love him when I simply listen to him. I love him as I actually share my thoughts and feelings with him.

I love him with a bag of hazelnuts or peanut M & Ms. I love him with surprise pumpkin bars, an unexpected note of appreciation, or an evening without distractions. I love him when I clean the kitchen or ignore the mess because other things (people…including our family) are more important. I love him when I say,”I’m sorry” or “I forgive you”.

I walk beside him on the mountains and in the valleys (both literal and metaphorical). I walked beside him on the bike trail and shared truths of the past and hopes of the future. We walked together to classes, chapel, in the grove, in a woods at Mohican State Park, and up a hill after exchanging our vows. I walked and am still walking beside him through 3 graduate schools. We walk together as parents, friends, travelers, preservers of the environment, and creators of memories.

This love and walk is one way God loves  and walks with me everyday…his smiling, laughter, and dialogue with me are the roots I am rejoicing for today. These roots have brought me great restoration and space for true retreat.

So, how do these roots also help nourish my roots as a mother, daughter, sister, friend, professor, student, and gardener…as a disciple of Christ? Those are future reflections.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

