Skip to content

dialogue with creation

June 11, 2010

We arrive to a friend’s rustic cabin for our extended weekend vacation near Westport in Canada and our children run through the cabin and proceed to burst through the back door that leads to a back porch overlooking the lake. All I can do is smile and breathe deeply. As I unload my arms of bags and pillows I overhear our daughter…

Dear God, Thank for our safe travel into Canada. And God, thank you so so soooooo much for your beautiful creation for all of these beautiful animals and plants. Thank you God. In your name I pray, Amen.”

…I peak out and her arms are outstretched speaking to OUR Father.

This past weekend and week OUR Father clearly conversed with me through His creation.

While in Canada we visited with amazing people who have and are living beautiful stories, we shared our own thoughts and dreams with each other, we went to a conservation area where the granite boomed and curved with and through the landscape and the trees framed pictures of peace and told their own life stories. All of which were adding to OUR story.

We returned from Canada this past Monday. Tuesday was our son’s preschool class field trip to one of my most treasured places, Moss Lake. He asked for my camera. He said he wanted to take some pictures that he could use to show his daddy what he saw on our hike. He’s 5 and already he recognizes one of the many ways to speak to and with people. Here are two of my favorites…I think because they are good reminders to look up and live in each day and place:

God has blessed all of us, my friends, with His creative and awe inspiring creation…in this earth we call home and these people we call brothers and sisters. This is a simple truth I reflected on this past week quite a bit.

I’m thankful I took the time to listen, be still, and take root in it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

