Skip to content

judge or journey on

June 26, 2010

***I know this is after my Friday deadline that I’ve set for myself, but life happens and time with friends and/ or family will trump my Friday deadline if they ever conflict. First… a song (by Regina Spektor) a friend  introduced to me and then comes a reflection.***

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war
No one’s laughing at God
When they’re starving or freezing or so very poor

No one laughs at God
When the doctor calls after some routine tests
No one’s laughing at God
When it’s gotten real late
And their kid’s not back from the party yet

No one laughs at God
When their airplane start to uncontrollably shake
No one’s laughing at God
When they see the one they love, hand in hand with someone else
And they hope that they’re mistaken

No one laughs at God
When the cops knock on their door
And they say we got some bad news, sir
No one’s laughing at God
When there’s a famine or fire or flood

But God can be funny
At a cocktail party when listening to a good God-themed joke, or
Or when the crazies say He hates us
And they get so red in the head you think they’re ‘bout to choke
God can be funny,
When told he’ll give you money if you just pray the right way
And when presented like a genie who does magic like Houdini
Or grants wishes like Jiminy Cricket and Santa Claus
God can be so hilarious
Ha ha
Ha ha

No one laughs at God in a hospital
No one laughs at God in a war
No one’s laughing at God
When they’ve lost all they’ve got
And they don’t know what for

No one laughs at God on the day they realize
That the last sight they’ll ever see is a pair of hateful eyes
No one’s laughing at God when they’re saying their goodbyes

But God can be funny
At a cocktail party when listening to a good God-themed joke, or
Or when the crazies say He hates us
And they get so red in the head you think they’re ‘bout to choke
God can be funny,
When told he’ll give you money if you just pray the right way
And when presented like a genie who does magic like Houdini
Or grants wishes like Jiminy Cricket and Santa Claus
God can be so hilarious

No one’s laughing at God
No one’s laughing at God
No one’s laughing at God
We’re all laughing with God

-Regina Spektor

When my family first moved to where we live now I began to question my Christianity. I again began to worry about what the people in the church thought of me and I was suddenly afraid to share my understandings of Christ. There the barrier began to arise. So there I sat in Sunday School listening to what I recognized as hatred (although now as I look back on it, the hatred may have been infomed by ignorance). These people clearly saw themselves as better than other PEOPLE  that did not fit in the nice neat box that some of these people had come to think Christians should look like, think like, act like, and speak like.

I’m still trying to make sense of all of this. I know that I must love these people who I have labeled ignorantly hateful. I also know that I should not label any one. I’m just trying to understand them…but I can’t help wanting to convince them that there is worth in ALL people.

I seek God’s wisdom…I seek HIS truth…HIS beauty…and I will rest in in HIM with hope that I can be a true disciple of Christ…seeking Him in all I think, say, and act….even when I’m interacting with people who I view as twisting Christianity into a very ugly and hurtful belief system.

Hm…I really need to work to not judge those who judge others.  This kind of judgement is an ugly root of mine…something that started in middle school…something that led me to reject the church for quite a while. I have returned and I am working on restoring my trust in people in the church…but none of this could be possible without the restorative power of love and forgivness that my husband and friends from college demonstrated for and toward me. I didn’t fit in a nice neat box…and I think if we take time to reflect on it, NO ONE does…and that’s the beauty of God’s creation. It’s laughable how we all think we have a clear understanding of Chrisitanity, but in reality it is a journey for all of us. And we all take different paths.

So I will choose to enjoy this journey and ignore these “do not trespass” signs that people seem to be brandishing. I pray that my judgement of others will decrease, cease, and never cause me to halt this refining retreat of restoration.

Peace be with you and you and you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    September 28, 2010 9:54 pm

    I’ve always enjoyed Regina Spektor for her ability to say something meaningful with her words, music, style, and visual art… she seems like a (w)holistic artist to me. I don’t know if you’ve heard “The Call” by her, but if you haven’t you should listen to it. I’m going to put the lyrics in here.

    It started out as a feeling
    Which then grew into a hope
    Which then turned into a quiet thought
    Which then turned into a quiet word

    And then that word grew louder and louder
    Until it was a battle cry
    I’ll come back
    When you call me
    No need to say goodbye

    Just because everything’s changing
    Doesn’t mean it’s never been this way before
    All you can do is try to know who your friends are
    As you head off to the war

    Pick a star on the dark horizon
    And follow the light
    You’ll come back when it’s over
    No need to say goodbye

    You’ll come back when it’s over
    No need to say goodbye

    Now we’re back to the beginning
    It’s just a feeling and no one knows yet
    But just because they can’t feel it too
    Doesn’t mean that you have to forget

    Let your memories grow stronger and stronger
    Until they’re before your eyes
    You’ll come back
    When they call you
    No need to say goodbye

    You’ll come back
    When they call you
    No need to say goodbye

    This song is important to me because I always feel there is no need to say goodbye. Whether this stems from avoidance of separation or a reassurance that everything is going to be OK… I don’t know.

    More in response to your post… Boxes are for people who don’t know how to live without them. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to tear them to shreds. It sort of works as a metaphor with homeless people who live in boxes. Some of them are living in boxes because there are no alternatives they can see, some use their boxes for protection, and others because they are afraid of what life outside the box can be…… taking away the boxes isn’t the answer, I just kinda wish it was.

Leave a Reply

