Skip to content

popcorn

July 12, 2010

POPCORN!!!  HOME GROWN POPCORN!!!

I recently visited one of my favorite farm markets in our area:

They sell produce for other farmers as well as peas, green beans, corn, and popcorn that they grow themselves. This was the first time I saw their popcorn for sale. I purchased 12 bundles of popcorn cobs and brought them home to process with my children (ages 5 and almost 8).

Together we shelled the corn and removed as much of the chaff as we could. I removed two rows of each cob and the children did the rest…they LOVED it! I took the kernals and swirled them to remove as much of the chaff. Now I had three beautiful bowls of popcorn:

Now it was time to pop some…… yum.

This is a new root of local fun for my children and me…one I hope we can continue enjoying for many years…maybe we’ll plant our own next year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

