Skip to content

shadows

October 25, 2010

Shadows come in many strengths. Shadows come in many shapes. Shadows come in many sizes.

When we are basking in the bright sunlight, our shadows are stronger. When we are under cloudy skies, our shadows are barely visible.

This past week was very…                                                                                                                                 …FULL. One of these days was an especially hectic day and I felt like I was disappearing under larger shadows. I had my camera with me so I found 30 minutes in my day and retreated to “my tree” of reflection and restoration. As I walked, the clouds rolled through the sky so fully and quickly. All I could do was I stand there in the refreshing breeze and rest. I looked down at the ground and watched my shadow change in it’s strength in a matter of one minute. I paused and the following thought occurred to me:

We grow stronger when we choose to walk and rest in hope and growth but can suddenly be weakened by our surroundings…by what or who we choose to allow to speak into our identity.

When feeling overwhelmed, worthless, and incapable of walking forward any longer, I have found it especially helpful this past year to run to this spot and rest and reflect on what or who I am allowing to speak more loudly than HOPE and TRUTH.

:Retreat:

:Reflect:

:Restore:

:Re-envision:

This tree has grown for many years and continues to grow…despite its surroundings.

Its roots grow deep and wide and survives. This challenges me to keep walking forward and refocus this walk for a clearer vision, ignoring the lies whispered and pain felt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 9:44 am

    That tree is amazing, its hard to find peace in the city but there the thing is there is always a big beautiful tree to lean against and admire, their force is very grounding! Nice post!

Leave a Reply

