Skip to content

seeds…

October 29, 2010

 

This past Wednesday, I walked up to the school and picked up my children from school and walked home. The walk home was filled with stories from the day, laughter, smiles, and plans for carving our pumpkins. As we sketched the plans, emptied and saved the seeds from the pumpkins, I thought of doing the same thing with my parents…it was an glorious and joyful mess.

This memory made me think about seeds that we pass on with every generation. Seeds of traditions…seeds of memories. Yes, some can be painful seeds (which I have chosen to compost—see my earlier ~death & rebirth~ blog entry), but today I am choosing to focus on those seeds of hope, joy, and peace that I might be able to share with my children that my mom and dad shared with me. Brooke Fraser has an awesome song titled SEEDS that talks about this:

Night
Field of stars above us
You pick one
We frame it with our fingers intertwined

Seeds of every generation
Between our hands
And the promise to teach you the little I have learned
So far

Child
What will you live to do?
What have I left for you?
What will we leave behind?

You
Learning as you’re growing
Not yet knowing
The world isn’t always quite as beautiful
As it is now

Child
What will you live to do?
What have I left for you?
What will we leave behind?

Night
Field of stars above us
I pick one and name it for you
And all who are to come

This field of stars are out there always…not just on clear dark nights. These stars…these seeds surround us in all that we think, say, and do. So let us pause with each thought, spoken word, and action and ask ourselves…is this a seed we want to share?

Is this a seed that is worthy of sharing?

Is it a seed, that if planted and nourished can grow into hope, joy, and peace?

Is this a seed that will take root in our lives and provide restoration for ourselves and others?

If so, think on it, dialogue about it, and act on it.

Seeds…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

