Skip to content

trust

November 5, 2010

As I grew up, my mom would always try to comfort me with the following proverb:

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight (Proverbs 3: 5-6).

Apparently I needed a lot of comforting because by the time I entered college I was QUITE tired of hearing this particular proverb. I never really took time to understand what it meant for me…what it might mean for others…until I was rocking my first child to sleep her first night at home with us.

I remember looking at her and realizing never again would she be that young again and wondering why God let me have this amazing child…there was NO WAY I could be her mommy without totally screwing her up. The moment this thought entered my mind I began to cry and then this song came to mind and I sang it to her each time I nursed her or rocked her to sleep. In fact I still sing it to her and my son at night time when they ask for “the trust song”:

(Trust ~Sixpence None the Richer)

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
Lean not on your own understanding
In all of your ways acknowledge Him
And He will make you paths straight
Don’t worry about tomorrow
He’s got it under control
Just trust in the Lord with all of your heart
And He will carry you through

Lord, sometimes it gets so tough
To keep my eyes on You
When thinks are going rough
But when I turn my eyes up to the sky
And I hear Your voice it says to me

So child do not be weary with the troubles
Of this world I have overcome

R~R~R

This past week I have been singing this song to myself. I must, I can, and I am no longer trying to lean only on my own understanding and ability. I am actively taking root in the truth and freedom of God’s restorative¬†trust.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jess Read permalink
    November 6, 2010 7:45 am

    Love you Sunshine. You are beautiful, as is your heart.

  2. November 6, 2010 10:14 pm

    Boy, with a heart like yours I find it very likely that you are a great mother.

Leave a Reply

