Skip to content

conversations

November 21, 2010

“Generosity is an indication of our spiritual health…our willingness to give is what matters” (my pastor this morning).

I think often when generosity is discussed amongst the church we think in monetary terms…but today, as he was speaking and as I have thought about it more throughout the day I began to think of other forms of giving.

Giving of our gifts…of our time and…sharing conversations.

Conversations (Sara Groves)

I don’t know how to say this,
I don’t know where to stand,
I don’t know where to put my feet,
Or where to put my hands.
I’ve got them in my pockets,
My fingers are freezing cold,
They’re wrapped around a ticket stub
That’s four weeks old,
And I don’t know how to say this.

I think we’ve figured out
This world is bigger than you and I.
We’ve exhausted our wealth of knowledge
And have no more answers for mankind.

We’ve had every conversation in the world
About what is right and what has all gone bad,
But have I mentioned to you that this is all I am,
This is all that I have.

I’m not trying to judge you.
No that’s not my job.
I am just a seeker too,
In search of God.

Somewhere somehow this subject became taboo.
I have no other way to communicate to you.
This is all that I am.
This is all that I have.

And we’ve had every conversation in the world
About what is right and what has all gone bad,
But have I mentioned to you that this is all I am,
This is all that I have.

I would like to share with you
What makes me complete.
I don’t claim to have found the Truth,
But I know it has found me.

The only thing that isn’t meaningless to me
Is Jesus Christ and the way he set me free.
This is all that I have. This is all that I am.
It’s all that I have, and it’s all

The only thing that isn’t meaningless to me
Is Jesus Christ and the way he set me free.
And this is all that I have. This is all that I am
It’s all that I have, and it’s all that I am
It’s all that I have, and it’s all

I don’t know how to say this
I don’t know where to start
Just know that I care for you
And I’m speaking from my heart

R~R~R

Something I’ve learned a great deal about over this past year is a form of giving that requires an extreme level of willingness…the giving of our time and space when we engage in REAL DIALOGUE…giving up our sense of rightness to be able to hear what the other person or group of people are saying. A question that has helped me with this process is, “am I willing to trust God through this conversation…am I willing to hear…am I willing to feel…am I willing to see light through different lenses?” The root of true conversation with others (even when we disagree with each other) brings restoration. Restoration in ourselves… through each other.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 12:05 am

    Great message. Real dialogue takes place when we chose to listen to others–something I need to work on.

  2. December 1, 2010 4:21 pm

    Thank you for this post. I am trying to learn this hard truth and have been for several years. It is not necessarily difficult to understand the meaning of giving and/or sharing but difficult in discerning when to assert, when to stand my ground, when to share, and when to simply take in.

    By nature, I gravitate toward debate. Debate certainly has its place and proper function, but when I employ it as my default first resort, I suddenly feel myself close off to the other person. When I reach this point, I am no longer concerned with sharing facts and truth for their betterment. I am concerned only with driving my point home and, in effect, make what could be a time of sharing/giving of understanding into a selfish standoff; “You will see and accept my point no matter what.” Essentially, I have a tendency of initiating a war of ideals.

    Through years of trial and error, I am realizing that the more concerned I am for the other person’s welfare, the more I desire to meet that person on his or her own ground while not compromising the integrity of my own. In other words, when I am motivated to share my thoughts instead of fire them at my perceived opponent, debate may very well take place, but only on the grounds of serving the other person’s needs, not my pride and selfishness.

    • December 6, 2010 8:58 am

      I think this is a difficult but VITAL part of life…truly sharing time and space with others and their passions and beliefs that may painful or infuriating for you to hear. But it is in this time and space that I have learned to love others by also sharing my passions and beliefs with them instead of hiding my thoughts in my heart and never engaging them in these conversations…full of listening (something all people could do a better job of doing) and talking (something some people need to do less of and other people need to do more of). Thanks, Todd for your comment. I’ve enjoyed learning more about you through our blogs. Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

