Skip to content

thanksgiving: a thank you to the farmers’ giving

December 17, 2010

I am thankful for food grown locally by real people doing good, sustainable work.

Good work by good people. I am also thankful for friends who help me grow good food…like parsnips!

So if you read my earlier blog titled ~death & rebirth~ I shared a little about the compost that we used on our garden. We enjoyed our garden thoroughly throughout the summer and autumn and on Thanksgiving day my dear friend and I went out to our garden for the last time and harvested our parsnips for our local Thanksgiving day that we shared with each other.

We started out with glazed pumpkin rolls (pumpkin grown in our garden) and fresh eggs (Farmer Lynn) and smoked bacon (Farmers Cockle) with concord grape juice (Naples, NY) we canned in October.

Our light lunch was butternut squash (Farmer Babbitt) corn (frozen from our garden) chowder.

Our actual Thanksgiving meal consisted of a cider-brined turkey (Farmer Lynn), cornbread-apple (Morton’s Farmers’ Market) stuffing, cranberry-almond green beans (canned from our garden), glazed beets (frozen from our garden), and our roasted carrots and parsnips (fresh from our garden).

This local Thanksgiving was intentional…and incredibly joyful. We have so many things to be thankful for and as we are nearing the end of the advent season, I find myself still reflecting on and celebrating this place where I live and these people that grow wholesome and REAL food.

There are so many farmers connected to EVERY community…even in urban areas. There are many ways of connecting with them, but the best way I’ve found is knocking on their door and knowing them as REAL people doing GOOD  and BEAUTIFUL work.

This root of eating locally runs deep in my life. Sometimes people laugh at me for being committed to this, others are mean about it (I think out of defending their eating patterns?), others ask for phone numbers or join me on a visit to a farm or farmers’ market. I used to get defensive and upset when others didn’t see the importance of eating locally…and then I realized that all people can’t think the same as me. I don’t want people to feel like they need to defend themselves to me…but I don’t want to feel like I need to defend myself to them either…I just want a REAL dialogue.

I will continue to share, but I will REFUSE to allow this to become a divisive issue between any of my brothers and sisters because… I eat as locally as possible so that I can connect with, support, and LOVE my neighbors (my brothers and sisters in this life on earth)…love my neighbors as myself. Both kinds of love are vital roots in a restorative life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    December 17, 2010 12:12 pm

    what about bananas? : ( do you eat bananas?

    • December 17, 2010 2:02 pm

      I get the browned ones that the grocery is going to throw out. We went through a few months of missing them…but now they are special treats, even the brown ones :). It is amazing how good those are and how many of them are just thrown away (not even composted)…they are delish—and if you don’t think you can eat them with the following two days, peel them and put them in a freezer bag and in the freezer to use later for banana bread, muffins, and other recipes that need mashed bananas :).
      I think avocados have been the hardest thing for me not to buy EVERY time I visit the grocery store…but I allow the splurge every once in awhile during the winter since most of our fresh produce comes from far away. It’s a process…one thing at a time…we started with our meat, then changed other things little by little.

Leave a Reply

