Skip to content

pebbles of happiness

December 18, 2010

I love rocks. My favorite course in college was Earth Science. Dr. Moser opened my eyes to a deep beauty in our world that I never saw before and have never stopped seeing since that course.

~R~R~R~

This beauty has led me to collect rocks from every place I visit. My dear friends know this and I have rocks from Thailand and other places that I’ve never been other than in their memory and thoughtfulness. My children collect rocks for me from places we visit (even concrete can be beautiful, I’ve learned). My husband has brought home an unexpected pebble when one catches his eye and I’m not with him. These rocks, these pebbles of happiness bring me great joy.

Some days I just glance at them as I walk past them…

and other days I stop and look and think about where my feet have walked.  I see Mt. Vernon, Springfield, Colorado Springs, Oregon, California, Utah, Zambia, Peru, Sierra Leone, Smoky Mountains, Allegany County, springs, mountains, volcanoes, rivers, swamps, prairies… and I wonder where else will these feet take me?

Most of these memories are filled with happy moments…but difficult moments are also part of these memories. Looking at these rocks…these pebbles I have to CHOOSE which moments I am going to dwell on. We all have choices in life…and I love what Donavan shares in this song. I am choosing happiness and getting out of they way so it continue in its circular motion…

Happiness Runs (Donovan)

Little pebble upon the sand
Now you’re lying here in my hand,
How many years have you been here ?
Little human upon the sand

From where I’m lying here in your hand,
You to me are but a passing breeze.
The sun will always shine where you stand
Depending in which land
You may find yourself.
Now you have my blessing, go your way.
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.

Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs in a circular motion
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway,
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Happiness runs, happiness runs.
Why ? Because…

Because I take time to reflect on these memories…these roots of where my feet have carried me, I can grow toward this continued journey of restoration.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

