Skip to content

aunt…

February 4, 2011
A red-head, a brunette, and a blonde.
These three women have spoken so many different things into my life.
I’ve learned…

to be and act boldly,

to care for family.

I watched them be…

betrayed, hurt, and uncared for…

yet they remained faithful, helpful, and loving.

I shared moments full of…

deep loss and grief,

real conversation,

loud laughter,

and joyous celebrating.

A red-head, a brunette, and a blonde….these are the women who remind me regularly through their lives of what my grandma, their mother, always said…FAMILY FIRST.

Today the red head, the eldest,

walked in her sleep to join their parents with our Father where I know she is rejoicing and crying tears of peace, love, and knowing.

Her tears are much wiser than my tears today…but I know that I will be hugging her again someday.

And today…I will retreat in the embraces of her sisters and together we will rest in the arms of our Father.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Angela permalink
    February 4, 2011 9:47 am

    Beautiful. Sending prayers of peace, love & comfort in this very difficult time.

  2. Melissa Doyon permalink
    February 4, 2011 2:55 pm

    Sunshine,

    I’m so sorry to hear of your Aunt’s death but I rejoice in the knowledge that she is now in our Savior’s arms.

  3. February 4, 2011 5:34 pm

    Sorry Sunshine. Hope you and your family are doing ok.

    • February 5, 2011 9:47 am

      We’re doing ok…I think it will take time to realize that she physically really isn’t here with us anymore…Thanks, love.

  4. February 5, 2011 5:42 pm

    Sunshine, I am happy for your aunt and am praying God empowers your heart as you work through her passing.

  5. Megan Wighaman permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:27 pm

    Praying for your loss dear Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

