Skip to content

dad texted about tea time

January 10, 2012

Today this young 60 year old sent this to me “just because” with a short little message of encouragement.

He is quiet.

He is loving.

He is honest.

He is generous.

He is encouraging.

He is my dad.

When I get small little notes like I did tonight with this picture I realize that maybe he isn’t as quiet and uninterested as I thought he was.  I crave to hear more from him and to know that he HEARS me…and respects the woman I am and growing into. And then with further reflection (like tonight), I realize that maybe he isn’t a man of few words, and that really we (my mom and I especially) have trained him to be quiet because we might not usually make space for his voice, for his thoughts and ideas.

Texting and e-mailing, however, seems to be a way we can communicate and they have empowered my dad’s voice to be heard 1:1 with me…

Today, I am thankful for my dad’s voice and listening ear that he chooses to share with me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

