Skip to content

focus

January 15, 2012

I observe the Sabbath on Saturday instead of Sunday, because, well, that’s when I need an entire day to do what I want and need to do with my family.

In this season of my life, that means that I have dedicated the time between 11:00- 4:00 in my office working on my dissertation without any distractions. This is VERY hard for me (I usually cry at least once during the day), but I know that sacrificing these afternoons with the family will give me this entire summer with them celebrating the completion of my doctorate.

Today, as I was working I took my planned tea break with my new mug (a gift from my brother). At first, I spent the time looking at the mug…focusing on the details of the mug. And then as I looked at the tea, I focused on the the reflection in my tea of the trees outside my office window.

R~R~R

It’s amazing what a moment of shifting your focus can do in the process of reflection. In some moments your restoration relies on one kind of focus and in other moments a truth is discovered…God is here.

God is in the mug and the trees…God is beauty.

Today, I am thankful for this truth that I can focus on when other things feel a bit blurry.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

