Skip to content

bread because of Grandpa

February 11, 2012

I rub the inside of these pans with butter and I instantly flash back to the Bloomfield-Mespo Sale Barn…

R~R~R

We are walking arm in arm down the major aisle of the sale barn. I had been married for a couple of years and he asked,

Do you make bread ever?

“Oh yeah…we love Zucchini and Banana Bread.”

He smiles at me a knowing smile and I revel in his presence.

So what bread pans do you use?

“Well…we have been using and reusing those aluminum ‘disposable’  pans”

and he chuckles and I shrug my shoulders and continue…

“Well, we didn’t get any for a wedding present and I don’t even know where to start to pick out the right kind of pan.”

Sweeti, there is no secret perfect pan, you just need some pans and what do ya know here are some

…and he winks at me as he often did throughout my childhood. He pulls out his worn leather wallet from his work/ farm pants (there’s an outline left in them from his wallet) and leafs through crisp bills and asks the woman how much for the pans and looks at me.

What size?

“Ummm, just normal size I guess.”

There is no normal size, you have options, what do you want?

“I’ll take these then”

Two large bread pans and six miniature pans are paid for, packed into a bag, and handed to me. I look up at him and smile.

“Thank you, Grandpa.”

Oh (chuckles) you’re welcome…it’s nice to be here with you again.

And we continue to walk through the rest of sale barn…together.

Nearly 13 years later I use these pans regularly to make whole-wheat or everyday oatmeal bread and each time I whisper thank you, Grandpa and I smile deeply. Today my children hovered around the oven until I pulled the loaves out and they followed me into the dining room with the grape jelly I canned ready to enjoy a fresh piece of warm bread, thank you Grandpa.

Today I am thankful for this bread I was able to make in these pans from Grandpa.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Baker Bettie permalink
    February 11, 2012 10:51 pm

    Such a simple story, yet such a beautiful one. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

