Skip to content

snail mail

February 21, 2012

I received two different hand-written notes from two amazing women in my mail today.

One from a friend, one from my mother.

Both messages were a needed breath of encouragement and further affirmation that GOD is here and She is beautiful.

Yes, I did write SHE is beautiful. But today I finally began to understand that if I believe that God lives in us and through all of us…can we limit God to being only male? I have done this all of my life simply because that is what is traditionally taught in the churches I belonged to. But, that comes from a long tradition that is based on how the male dominating world wrote their understandings of God in the Bible. It made sense to me and I did not see a problem with understanding God as a male.

But now I wonder why…

While I try to live a biblical life, I do NOT follow the rules of living outlined in the Bible verbatim…no one I know does. Is that because we don’t long to be a disciple of Christ, of course not. BECAUSE we are thinking Christians, we MUST ask questions and strengthen our faith in our Lord, yearning to understand more about how to live on this Earth with all of the other beings alongside us. We have learned soooo much since the writing of the Bible, that women are valuable and VITAL to this world, that beating people to death with stones is maybe not the best idea, that Genesis is not a science manual…but a beautiful story of God’s relationship with us and the home (Earth) God created for us, trusting us to care for it and the other animals (even humans) on it…and the list goes on.

Today I am thankful for two notes from God that I got through snail mail today encouraging my grace with others and myself, helping me understand yet another layer of God I am beginning to see.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jkenjin permalink
    February 21, 2012 8:47 pm

    Thank you for your post! Keep up the good job and have a great aloha week!! ^_^

  2. February 23, 2012 9:39 pm

    Have you read The Shack? If not, you should…

    • February 24, 2012 9:52 pm

      I have…that is when I first started realizing that it is only because of tradition that we think about and refer to God as male only…but it has taken a while for me to keep working through it though…but I’m not sure why.

Leave a Reply

