Skip to content

palliative pajamas

February 25, 2012

It is Saturday…my family day…our day of restoration.

Some Saturdays we clean and organize.

Some Saturdays we work beside other people on community projects.

Some Saturdays we play outside and explore creation.

Some Saturdays, like today we stay in our pajamas.

My daughter and I especially need this day to restore our inner peace… our quiet solitude.

Her behavior over the last couple days was communicating to me that something might be bothering her, so I asked, “Are you ok?” and she looked at me and said, “I don’t know, I can’t figure out what to say.”

She slept well last night and this morning shared with me, “I wish I didn’t have to go back to school and we could stay in our pajamas forever.” I smiled and said “Well, we can stay in our pajamas today and do whatever we want, and then MAYBE we (cause I am not looking forward to what I am tackling this week either) will be ready for Monday when it rolls around.” I had planned to help out with a community project today, but my daughter needs me here today…staying in our pajamas “forever”.

She went to her easel and I came here to begin our plan for restoration today. We will also read, play with dolls, and do some yoga together.

Today we seek restoration in our pajamas…together.

Today I am thankful for palliative pajamas for both of us.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 7:51 am

    Lucky her to have such a sensitive mom. Great headline on this post!

  2. February 26, 2012 10:30 am

    Thoughtful and reflective post. Your relationship with Addie is so encouraging. Hope you both have a good week!

Leave a Reply

