Skip to content

empowering children

March 21, 2012

Today I had plans to blog about the happiness and restoration I found in working on my dissertation in my hammock in the glorious sun.

However, my daughter received a letter in the mail today from her math camp counselor from last year. This beautiful young woman wrote down the names of 183 people who had a significant impact on her life last year and put them in a bowl. Every other morning she draws a name and prays for that person for two days and writes a letter of encouragement and thanksgiving. My daughter was beyond excited to get a letter from her and then when she began to read the letter tears filled her eyes. She finished the note explaining the resolution and pattern of prayer and the personalized 2 page letter and said,  “Mom, listen to what she wrote…” She read two sentences aloud and began crying, “Here, Mom, read it, I just can’t, she is just sooooo awesome. I can’t believe she thinks I am that special”. Of course I read it and of course tears poured out of my eyes too, this woman had empowered my daughter’s sense of self. She saw the inner being of my daughter and thanked her for being her.

God loved my family today through this action of empowering my daughter. God showed me Her female side again today and made this smile from earlier today even broader and deeper.

Today, I am thankful for this woman and her commitment to Christ and empowering children.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 11:20 pm

    That’s awesome. I am enjoying your new post format; you sharing your thankfulness each day.

Leave a Reply

