Skip to content

let the sunlight wash over you…peace & strength

May 4, 2012

Today is a REALLY hard day for me.  I was supposed to defend my dissertation today (in fact, at the moment I am writing this I was planning on wrapping up my actual presentation) and instead I am STILL writing revisions because…well because of a lot of different reasons. It is easy to get angry at other people and begin to believe that I AM NOT capable of finishing the story I am trying to share with other educators.

Luckily, however, my back porch provides a space for me to wash this sorrow out with the sunlight.

I went outside with a refreshing drink and sat, breathed, and was still in the glory of the sunlight and my God’s presence.

I felt the warmth wash over me and was able to finally catch my breath and remember that I am here ONLY BECAUSE my God helped me open  and keep this window of opportunity open. This story, this teacher and her class of learners show other teachers the power of their voice and treatment of each other…it needs to be shared.

I smiled and allowed myself to relax…the sun streamed through my hair and it felt like it filled my body with renewed peace and strength.

Today I am thankful for the sunlight washing over me the peace and strength needed this day…this moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 12:06 pm

    Awesome photo! You can do it and you’re so so so so SO close! Summer and freedom and babies and glorious food…all almost here.

  2. May 4, 2012 5:31 pm

    And I’m thankful that God brought you to mind this morning…and then I received a text from you! 🙂 It’s awesome the way that he can place people and situations on our hearts at the very times when we need it most. Thankful for you and the blessing that you’ve been in my life!!

  3. May 5, 2012 7:33 am

    Thanks ladies! I appreciate both of you so much!

Leave a Reply

