Skip to content

5 days of small things

May 23, 2012

Alli Rogers (http://www.allirogers.com)is one of my favorite song writers and musicians. Her voice inspires and calls me to sing with her (to my husband chagrin at times I’m sure). One of my favorite songs of hers follows (The Day of Small Things):

I am afraid of beginning,
‘cause I don’t know how to end.
But you told me that the mountain before us
would become a plain in our eyes.
So I won’t despise,
I won’t despise the day,
I won’t despise the day of small things.

Even when you tell me…
oh, even then I’m shaking

‘Cause I am afraid of believing,
The plans that we make seem so big.
But you’ve shown me that we’re never alone,
and your spirit will stay by our side.
So I won’t despise,
I won’t despise the day,
I won’t despise the day of small things.

I sing and rejoice in the small things of life. I am thankful for so many things…both big and small. But I find taking the time to be thankful and revel in the small things supports my vision through the big things.

I recently submitted my completed dissertation to my committee and will be defending it in less than a week…this is a HUGE thing. BUT even larger than it is the collection of moments that I’ve purposefully taken to be thankful…helping me have a grateful heart for this narrative I am living and learning through.

Today I am thankful for the small things (running in the sun, time in our garden, worn wood to rest on, slowing down for a painted turtle, and bright colors and textures)…

…yes, I am so very thankful that they all tower over and pull me through the big things.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

