Skip to content

Granola: Chocolate-Almond

June 8, 2012

Today after the children went to school I took some time make some granola. I have been eating the chocolate peanut granola my cousin shared with me from this AMAZING blog: http://deliciouslyorganic.net/chocolate-peanut-granola

I tweaked it each time I made it and this recent tweak I think is a keeper…it is more chocolatey with fewer calories but amazingly nutritious…so I wanted to share it with you. But I really want to encourage you all to visit Carrie’s blog, she has lots of great ideas.

INGREDIENTS:

4 1/2 cups of rolled oats

1 1/2 cups of almonds (chopped)

1 cup of cocoa powder

1/2 cup sunflower seeds (raw & chopped)

1/2 cup sesame seeds (toasted or roasted)

1/2 cup sucanat (or organic whole cane sugar)

1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon course sea salt

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and move rack to the middle position. Mix all of the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Add the melted coconut oil and the maple syrup and mix thoroughly. Spread the granola evenly on a large cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Remove and stir the granola around and place back into the oven for another 25 minutes. Remove and allow to cool completely. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

I usually eat 1/4 cup of this with 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt as breakfast or as a special mid-day treat…each time thanking my cousin for sharing the original recipe.

Today I am thankful for chocolate, oats, and almonds…they are deliciously restorative.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

