Skip to content

goodnight

June 11, 2012

Sometimes I think about sleep and how funny it is that the majority of people in a region sleep at the same time. I first started to think about this part of life when I was young and my dad got a job and he had to work midnights…for MANY years. I never understood how he and many other people could do that. It felt so strange to kiss him goodbye to go to work as I was headed to bed…lights along our road would all be turning off for the night as he and other drove to work.

Other times I think about it is when we travel long distances and often travel during the night while the children sleep…whenever I see a light on I wonder…hmm someone else is awake- are they having fun…are they unable to fall asleep because of stress, work to complete, heartbreaking sadness….rage?

Tonight I am going to bed earlier than I’ve been able to this entire past year. My lamp will be switched off around the same time as my neighbors…I am part of what so often seems normal tonight.

Today I am thankful for saying goodnight with most of you…but if you are not going to bed, would you mind sharing what things inspire (or force) you to stay awake during the night?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Leah permalink
    June 11, 2012 9:56 pm

    Report cards! I think I would be okay going to work at night just not sure about the sleeping during the day part…

  2. June 11, 2012 10:36 pm

    i am packing. : ( because i have discovered i am a chronic sub-conscious procrastinator.

    • June 12, 2012 8:52 pm

      You are packing? OH MY WORD! IT IS mid-June! I’m so sorry we never got together! Have a safe trip…and enjoy all the new fun adventures!

  3. June 12, 2012 3:35 pm

    Nursing my newborn… around 11pm, although he slept until 530 but I’m assuming you weren’t up at that hour 🙂

Leave a Reply

